Just Like Heaven

22 Nov

I got into ‘The Cure’ when I was at uni. I wasn’t sure I’d like them as they wore a lot of eye makeup and the horrible emo subculture was popular at the time. I went through a punk music phase for a couple of months (never dressed that way thank goodness) and a friend said that if I liked ‘The Clash’ then I’d like this band. I was hooked from ‘Friday I’m in Love’.

I love reading. I don’t buy small bags as I always carry around a book. I read on trams, wating rooms, etc. I immerse myself and get transported to another world.

I was a precocious reader and obsessive about it. It got to the point where my parents didn’t like it as they would have rathered I read school and improve my maths (yes, I sucked at maths. Still do). I was an only child and we didn’t always have a television, I was terrible at sports and so I read everything. I read the children appropriate books the Enid Blytons, ‘The Babysitters Club’, ‘Paddington Bear’, ‘MaryPoppins’, the Hans Christian Anderson fairytales and the like. My parents’ books that I wasn’t supposed to their true crime Ann Rule type books, ‘The Godfather’, Elizabeth Taylor biographies as well as their trashy magazines. And the books they didn’t mind me reading. ‘Jane Eyre’, ‘Tess of the D’urbervilles’, ‘David Copperfield’, ‘The Scarlet Letter’, ‘Sons and Lovers’, ‘Dracula’, ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’, ‘The Catcher in the Rye’, ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, ‘Wuthering Heights’, ‘The Jungle Book’ and so forth. And the text books and ‘worthwhile reads’ that they wanted me to read about or by Freud, Marx, Satre and Camus.

This was the 90s and all before I was 11.

It was an interesting childhood. I had a very active imagination as one could imagine. Bored with school as they plodded through Roald Dahl books. Hopeless at maths but known for doing well in English subjects. It was the same throughout highschool though I read fewer classics and more by Man Booker Prize and other literary award winners. And I discovered Ruth Rendell.

I seldom meet people who read and I’m in good company on ‘WordPress’. Some are proud of the fact they don’t read. I can’t fathom it.

I sometimes have to bite my tongue when somebody waxes lyrical about books like ‘Twilight’ or ‘The Da Vinci Code’. I’ve read a shameful amount of chick lit so can’t really talk but gosh, it’s painful. I thought that ‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo’ was a big pile of okay and I’d figured out who the killer was and a lot of the mysteries at the start. The only good thing that came out of ‘The Da Vinci Code’ is that it spiked an interest in Leonardo Da Vinci. The thing that came out of ‘Twilight’ was ’50 Shades’. Nuff said.

I’m reverential with a book. Each turning of the page is symbolic and I’m breathless with anticipation. I’ve experienced true happiness in pages and have been transported to magical lands. I laugh, I cry, I get angry. I feel on top of the world, I feel like I’m on the bottom of the world, I feel like I am at one with the world. Some reads are truly life-changing experiences. I pity those who have never had that experience.

One Response to “Just Like Heaven”

  1. Ad-libb3d November 22, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    The Clash too? And you previously mentioned the Wallflowers? Did you steal my iPod or something?

Leave a Reply

