Music Box Dancer

14 Nov

‘Music Box Dancer’ by Frank Mills is one of my favourite songs. It’s a happy song of childhood, of innocent times. A simple, sweet melody that has been used on many ice-cream trucks (at least in America it seems, not so much here in Aus). It’s my life song and I want it at my future wedding and maybe funeral.

Okay, so I’m doing this. Copied it from http://themovieblog8.wordpress.com/ (how do you link posts?) I used to do a tonne of these ‘About Me’s’ on the good ol’ days of Myspace which was oh, about six years ago.

Here are my 11 facts:

  1. My favourite book is ‘The Little Prince’.
  2. My favourite animal is…oh it’s too obvious.
  3. I don’t own a television. That apparently is an odd thing but I don’t have any need for one.
  4. I can’t ride a bike. I did own one as a kid but as the parents didn’t know how to either, I didn’t learn. I was too afraid of falling.
  5. I know that Jude Law and I are destined to be together. We are going to get married and have hot children. Or maybe I’ve got the wrong ‘J’. Maybe it’s Johnny Depp that I’m going to be with.
  6. I wish I could speak French. I listen to French music, know about their culture and watch French films-subtitled!
  7. French food is my favourite. I could live off their pastries and cheese. Cheese! I love cheese.
  8. I’m a stationery addict. I used to have a nice collection of Cross, Shaeffer, Faber Castell pens and some divine diaries and letter paper. It’s a bit sad but I could have long conversations about stationery brands and types.
  9. I buy a new Filofax every year. I tend to get bored of it around March and then write some sporadic guilt entries throughout the year.
  10. My favourite singer is Kate Bush. I would turn for her.
  11. I don’t even want to think about how many clothes and books I have.

What’s your biggest accomplishment?

Getting some of my work published when I was at uni. I don’t have the articles anymore (darn usbs) and haven’t really written anything noteworthy since.

If you could go back to college again, what would you major in?  If you never been to college, what would you major in if you went?

I’d major in Marketing or Business. I’d work more and keep in touch with relevant people.

What memory would you re-live again?

Hanging out with friends at uni, the euphoria of getting something published or the dirty weekends with my ex.

What’s the best thing about the 90′s?

Growing up in it. ‘The Spice Girls’! I still love them.

What the worst thing about the 90′s?

Primary school. Eww. And yoyos. I still can’t play them.

If you could be in any movie, which one would it be?

‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’. For a lot of obvious reasons.

1. What’s a movie that you think is terrible but you enjoy anyway?

Oh most chick flicks. I’m a sucker for films about goodlooking people who have great jobs wear nice clothes and find tru luv. ‘Bride Wars’. So inane but ohhh, the clothes.

2. What movie received positive reviews but you don’t like?

‘The Notebook’. Not a fan of formulaic Nicholas Sparks books and the films made from them. I cried at the end resented them for using the cheap trick of a dying person who suffers from a wasting illness.

3. Is there a movie which you disliked the first time but liked later?

‘Melancholia’. I was a bit tired when I first saw it and felt nauseous from the jerky camera movement. I thought it was a bit pretentious. I still think it’s a bit pretentious but Kirsten Dunst’s performance is fantastic, she really captured depression. One must see the film as a metaphor rather than take it at face value.

4. If you can meet any director/actor/producer, who would it be?

Hitchcock/Audrey Hepburn/Spielberg.

5. If you could change one award at the Oscars, which one would it be?

Oh easy. ‘Citizen Kane’ rather some other film that nobody has ever heard of.

6. If there was one movie you could watch over and over for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Hmm, maybe ‘Amelie’.

7. What film would you like to see a remake of?

‘The Valley of the Doll’s’. Trashy book, trashy film of course. But it would be so much fun! There was a rumour that Anne Hathaway (who I love) was to play Neely but it seems to have fallen through.

8. Do you refuse to watch any movie from a certain actor or director just because you didn’t like one of their films?

I’ve never seen a Uwe Boll film and I don’t intend to.

9. Who is your favorite director?

Hitchcock.

10. Which film do you wish had never been made?

Every Disney sequel.

11. What is your favorite moment in any film?

Maybe when ‘The Oneders’ first hear their song played in ‘That Thing You Do’.

One Response to “Music Box Dancer”

  1. George Watches Things November 22, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    Some excellent choices! Hitchcock is great. How do you feel about the Anthony Hopkins film? To link a post, you can just copy its URL and do a little hyperlink thing.

Leave a Reply

